"This command cannot be executed because the setting cannot be enabled"

Feb 26, 2014 at 10:19 AM
I'm trying to use Install-BoxstarterPackage to install a package on a remote machine via the following command

Install-BoxstarterPackage -ComputerName vm-boxstarter -PackageName NotepadPlusPlus

However I get the error "This command cannot be executed because the setting cannot be enabled." during the "Boxstarter: Configuring CredSSP settings..." step.

I've run "Enable-PSRemoting -Force" on the remote machine, I also don't need credentials as I'm a domain user with admin rights over both machines (specifying the credentials doesn't make any difference to the output)

How can I diagnose and fix this?

Full powershell output is
PS C:\> Install-BoxstarterPackage -ComputerName vm-boxstarter.fiscal.local -PackageName NotepadPlusPlus
Boxstarter Version 2.3.24
(c) 2014 Matt Wrock. http://boxstarter.org

Boxstarter: Configuring local Powershell Remoting settings...
Boxstarter: Configuring CredSSP settings...
Boxstarter: Rolling back remoting settings changed by Boxstarter...
Enable-WSManCredSSP : This command cannot be executed because the setting cannot be enabled.
At C:\Users\jpealing\AppData\Roaming\Boxstarter\Boxstarter.Chocolatey\Enable-BoxstarterCredSSP.ps1:58 char:9
+         Enable-WSManCredSSP -DelegateComputer $ComputersToAdd -Role Client -Forc ...
+         ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    + CategoryInfo          : InvalidOperation: (System.String[]:String[]) [Enable-WSManCredSSP], InvalidOperationExce
   ption
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : WsManError,Microsoft.WSMan.Management.EnableWSManCredSSPCommand
Coordinator
Feb 26, 2014 at 2:49 PM
Can you run the command with the -Verbose switch and post the output? Thanks!
Feb 26, 2014 at 4:37 PM
PS C:\WINDOWS\system32> Install-BoxstarterPackage -ComputerName vm-boxstarter.fiscal.local -PackageName NotepadPlusPlus
-Verbose
Boxstarter Version 2.3.24