Issues Creating In-House BoxStarter Packages with Dependencies and Reboots

Aug 27, 2014 at 9:41 PM
I’ve been working with BoxStarter for a few months now and have built up a library of in-house BoxStarter packages which essentially wrap known-good installs (both third party and proprietary). Until now I haven’t had to leverage BoxStarter’s reboot handling capabilities but now that it’s required to configure our VM’s I’m running into problems. It may be a complete misunderstanding of how BoxStarter manages reboots (and thus how to design packages and their dependencies). Here’s what I’m trying to do.

Assume the following:

• I have in-house packages A1, A2, A3, B1, C1, and C2.
• A packages should be installed in order followed by a reboot, then B packages, reboot, then C packages.
• Package An has a dependency on An-1 where n > 1.
• Package C2 has a dependency on C1.
• C packages have dependencies on B packages and B packages depend on A packages.

So by calling:
Install-BoxStarterPackage A3
I’d expect A1, A2, then A3 to be installed.
Install-BoxStarterPackage C1
Should result in A1, A2, and A3 being installed, followed by a reboot, then B1, reboot, and C1
Install-BoxStarterPackage C1
Everything should be installed: A1, A2, A3, reboot, B1, reboot, C1, C2.